Community by-laws

IGNNITION is a framework for fast prototyping of Graph Neural Networks (GNN). With this framework, users can design and run their own GNNs in a matter of a few hours, no TensorFlow or PyTorch knowledge is required. IGNNITION is released under the Apache License Version 2.0. Participation in the community is open to anyone and can be done through the project mailing lists, where all development activity happens.

Community Roles

Participants in the project can assume the following roles:

User: someone using the framework code, who contributes by helping other users on the mailing lists, reporting bugs or suggesting features.

Developer: a user active in discussions on the developer mailing list, contributing to the source code, the examples library, or documentation. Their contributions are added to the source tree by a committer.

Committer: a developer with write access to the source code repository. Commit access is granted by the Project Management Committee.

Project Management Committee (PMC) member: PMC members control the direction of the project, based on consensus. The PMC sets the priorities for the features to be developed, grants and revokes commit access, and decides what can and cannot be merged into the source tree.

Project Management Committee

The first PMC was established at the time of the open sourcing of the initial code and will govern the project until September 1st, 2022. The project has been kick-started at BNN, UPC and the PMC memberships reflect this. During the first years, the goal of the PMC is to engage with the community, disseminate the framework and incorporate members from other contributing organizations. After September 1st, 2022, a PMC based on merit in contributions and demonstration of commitment to the project will be elected by the committers, from the committers. The exact procedures will be discussed on the developer mailing list, and this document will be updated to reflect the outcome of those discussions when the PMC feels that consensus is reached.

The current members of the PMC are: - David Pujol-Perich ( - José Suárez-Varela ( - Miquel Ferriol-Galmés ( - Albert Cabellos-Aparicio ( - Pere Barlet-Ros (